The umpire blew it, but the call and the no-hitter will stand. Maybe because of last night's call by third base umpire Adrian Johnson, there will be new calls for expanded replay.

Carlos Beltran appeared to get the only Cardinals hit in Johan Santana's no-hitter last night, an 8-0 win for the Mets at Citi Field, the first no-hitter in Mets history, but Johnson ruled Beltran's blistering line shot over third that hit the chalk line in the sixth inning a foul ball. Beltran then grounded out to third base and Santana went on to get his no-hitter.

In some ways, it was the opposite of umpire Jim Joyce's imperfect call that cost Detroit's Armando Galarraga a perfect game in June 2010.

Said Beltran of last night's call: "When things aren't meant to happen, what you can do? I thought it was a fair ball but at the end of the day, one hit wasn't going to make any difference in the ballgame. We had to score runs and we didn't. The way I saw it, the ball was over the bag and the replay showed it landed on the line.''

That would have made it a hit, possibly a double, and Santana would have lost his no-hitter.

Johnson defended his call, telling a pool reporter, "I saw the ball hitting outside the line just foul.'' Told that the replay told a different story, the umpire said, "Yeah, I saw the replay.''

Asked about the replay, Johnson said, "No comment.''

There really was nothing to say, he blew the call.