They're giving away Coco Crisp garden gnomes at the Coliseum before Sunday's series finale between the A's and the Red Sox. After the way Crisp has treated them the last two days, it's a fair bet the Sox would like nothing better than to see the A's give away Crisp himself.

Crisp followed up Friday's game-winning, eighth-inning single with a 10th-inning RBI single Saturday that gave the A's a 2-1 win over Boston and stretched Oakland's winning streak to five.

"It's always fun,'' Crisp said after wiping the celebratory whipped cream pie off his face. "It feels good to have played a part in a win, always.''

This was a game the A's thought they could close out in nine innings, 1-0, after Jesse Chavez gave the team seven shutout innings. But a blown call by home plate umpire Quinn Wolcott gave the Red Sox added life in the eighth inning, and Dustin Pedroia took advantage to score on a wild pitch to tie the score.

Manager Bob Melvin was so irate that he was ejected from the game by Wolcott after reliever Luke Gregerson got the inning's final out. The A's were convinced, and replays showed, that catcher Stephen Vogt caught the pitch that Wolcott ruled had been fouled into the dirt.

By the time of Crisp's game-winning liner to right field to score Alberto Callaspo, Melvin was feeling better about things, although he was no less convinced of the justness of his argument. Umpire crew chief Gerry Davis told a pool reporter that Wolcott heard Vogt's glove hit the ground and thought he was hearing the ball hit the ground.

"He caught it, (but) you can't review that play,'' Melvin said. "It's tough that there's a play that needs to be reviewed, you should be able to review it. But you can't on that one.''

Davis said the call was a difficult one, that it happens with some regularity around baseball and that the only way to reverse it is if one of the base umpires is positive the ball was caught. That level of certainty was lacking Saturday.

Vogt, who tripled and scored in the third inning, was surprised by Wolcott's call, because he said there was no doubt in his mind that he caught the ball for what would have been an inning-ending third strike.