The Detroit Tigers announced this morning that they have agreed to terms with seven players on contracts for the upcoming season.
The Tigers have reached new deals with pitchers Drew Smyly, Al Alburquerque, Brayan Villarreal, Jose Ortega and Melvin Mercedes; outfielder Andy Dirks; and catcher Bryan Holaday.

Those seven players are under team control because they do not have the necessary amount of service time to qualify for arbitration, as are the seven players on the 40-man roster who remain unsigned: pitchers Casey Crosby and Luis Marte; infielders Danny Worth, Dixon Machado and Hernan Perez; and outfielders Quintin Berry and Avisail Garcia.

If those players do not come to contract agreements by March 2, the Tigers will renew their contracts.

The Tigers came to terms with seven other players on contracts last week.