To cap his great comeback season, a year after back surgery threatened to end his career, Ottawa Senators captain Daniel Alfredsson was named one of three finalists for the 2011-12 Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy, which is awarded "to the player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey."

Toronto Maple Leafs leftwinger Joffrey Lupul and Montreal Canadiens leftwinger Max Pacioretty are the other two nominees.

A $2,500 grant from the Professional Hockey Writers' Association (PHWA) is awarded annually to the Bill Masterton Scholarship Fund, based in Bloomington, Minnesota, in the name of the Masterton Trophy winner.

The local chapters of the PHWA submit nominations for the Masterton Trophy at the end of the regular season and the top three vote-getters are designated as finalists.